Skincare Saturday – Peter Thomas Roth

IMG_0381

I purchased this set from Sephora a while ago. In it, you get samples of their Max Sheer All Day Moisture Lotion, Instant FirmX Eye gel, Laser-Free Resurfacer, and FirmX Peeling Gel, plus a full size bottle of their Anti-Aging Cleansing Gel. At $38 this set is a fantastic value – this cleanser alone is $35 plus you get to try other great products! And the samples you get are generously sized and work wonders, but I’d like to talk about the cleanser today.

This oil-free formula contains glycolic acid, which exfoliates and encourages skin cell turnover; salicylic acid, which helps control oil production; panthenol (pro vitamin B5), which moisturizes and nourishes the skin; and lemon, lime, and grapefruit extracts, which help brighten the skin. It’s supposed to help clean and nourish the skin while diminishing fine lines, wrinkles, and other signs of aging. It’s good for all skin types except sensitive skin – so whether it’s dry, combo, oily, or acne-prone, it will work for you!

I really love this cleanser. It cleans my face without making it more oily or feel stripped of moisture, it gets all my makeup off – even eye makeup, without stinging my eyes – and I do think it’s working wonders on my skin. Because of the glycolic and salicylic acids I don’t use it every day, but I feel like it’s gentle enough that I COULD use it every day without it harming my skin. It also has a really nice peachy, fruity scent that’s not overpowering. I either use just my hands to massage it into my face, or I use my Olay ProX Advanced Cleansing Brush for extra exfoliation when my skin is feeling particularly dull. That brush, by the way, does a very serviceable job if you don’t feel like splashing out for the Clarisonic or Michael Todd varieties; I don’t feel like the brush is overly harsh on my skin, and it does a very nice job of cleansing and exfoliating my face.

So if you’re in the market for a new cleanser, give this one a try! I would highly recommend you get the kit – for $3 more you can try some other really great products (I love the Resurfacer in particular). Have a beautiful weekend!

Leave a Reply

