Travel Tuesday – Dreams Edition

I’ve been dreaming of vacations. Does this happen to you this time of year? I think it does to most of us, especially those of us in the midwest or – especially this year – the east coast, where winter just won’t let up even though the stores are starting to have garden supplies and swimsuits. In no particular order, here are the places I would love to visit someday.

35c2339e687c46ce79c58a1a5d7cebf8

(photo found on amongraf.ro)

France: I spent two weeks in France the summer after my senior year of high school, and I have been wanting to go back ever since my plane touched back down on US soil. The picture above is Nice – Paris was great, of course, for the monuments and history and shopping; but the south of France is where my heart lies. If my group had accidentally left me behind in this otherworldly coastal city I would have been just fine with that. I’m determined to get back here one day, and it would be a dream come true to live there permanently.

enhanced-buzz-wide-27833-1392755491-28

(photo found on Buzzfeed)

England: Anywhere in England, really. London would be a must of course, but I’d also love to see the little bucolic towns like Bibury in this picture. It seems a beautiful country with so much rich history and culture. Wales, Scotland and Ireland would be included in this dream vacation – I’d love to see it all!

ab5d747dc375cfea4be262d747c69b05

(photo found on flickr.com)

Egypt: I have been completely obsessed with Egypt since I was a little kid. I still harbor a dream of basically being Rachel Weisz in The Mummy – albeit with more historical accuracy and less gooey mummies. The culture, the history, the stories of the gods, it all fascinates me to no end. Plus I love the idea that so little of Egypt’s treasures have been found – that there’s still more wonders to unearth in the sand. It’s still not the happiest place on earth, politically, although one small grace is the fact that they rely heavily on tourism for income, which means that tourists are still safer here than in many other Middle Eastern countries. I’m still determined to get there one day and see the pyramids and temples for myself.

Where do you dream of traveling?

Leave a Reply

