Makeup Monday – Eye looks

My Ipsy bag for this month hasn’t come yet (*sob*) so that mini haul will have to be next week! In the meantime I did two kind of exciting eye looks this weekend, one for Valentine’s Day and the other for a contest L’Oréal put on.

IMG_0319

I was really happy with my look for Valentines! I did a bright purple-y pink on both eyes and lips. For face, I’ve been using Maybelline’s Fit Me! Matte + Poreless Foundation – my shade is 130 Buff Beige – and loving it. I feel like it covers and perfects my skin without making it look like a mask. Blush and bronzer are from my BH Cosmetics blush palette – I used the matte bronzer in the upper left hand corner and coral color on the top row, second from right.

For the lips, I used Bite Beauty’s Luminous Crème Lipstick Duo in Violet and Palomino – which apparently isn’t available anymore on Sephora? That is a shame because those colors are beautiful. I lined my lips with the Violet, and filled in the outer corners. Then I applied Palomino – which is a bright fuchsia-ish pink – all over, and topped with NYX Butter Gloss in Cupcake.

IMG_0320

For the eyes, I applied a warm brown shade above my crease as a transition shade, then from my BH Cosmetics Eyes on the 70’s palette, I applied the black with this brush just in the crease and outer eyelid, creating a v shape. I then blended it out with the dark pink color in that palette, using the blending brush. I liked this technique because the dark color didn’t get obliterated by over blending, so the definition was still there, plus it turned almost purple where it mixed with the pink. Then I applied L’Oréal’s Infallible Eyeshadow in Amber Rush all over the lid. This color is so, so good. It’s a metallic rose gold color, and I swear it goes with any other color you could possibly put on your eye and makes it look luxe and pretty. Then I lined the upper lash with NYC High Definition Liquid Eyeliner  – I don’t like this as much as NYC’s other eyeliner; it has a felt tip and doesn’t seem to go on as rich and black, but it’s quick and easy to apply. Then L’Oréal’s Voluminous Extra-Volume Collagen Mascara on the lashes. I’m trying to find a mascara I love as much as Tarte‘s mascaras, but that I can find at the drugstore and doesn’t cost $20 a tube! I don’t think this one is it yet, but it’s not bad.

IMG_0326

For the contest – the theme was Color Clash. I already had the green eyeshadow, gold eyeliner, and red lipstick – all L’Oréal – and then picked up the purple eyeliner and pinky red lip gloss on clearance at Target. All those colors together reminded me of the Joker, so I did this look with the green in the crease, gold all over the lid, purple smudgy liner and bright red lips. Would you like to see the video? It could only be 3 minutes maximum – you have no idea how hard that was – and my lighting sucks but you get the idea:

I’ve never ever uploaded a vid onto YouTube before, and so forgot to change the title like an idiot, but there you go!

Neutrals definitely have their place, but I love bright looks like this. Hope you enjoyed this, and I hope it inspires you to bring a little color into your routine!

Leave a Reply

