Thirsty Thursday – Lady Shirley

IMG_0209

Why yes I did pick this cocktail because of the name. Why do you ask? I mean come on. It’s the closest I would ever come to being a Lady. And since it’s a pretty red color I had to put in my Horde glass, it’s only right.

This is basically a grown up Shirley Temple, with the naughty stuff added back in. You get a little sweetness from the grenadine, a little tart from the lemon, and warm yummy goodness from the whiskey. It is delightful, and you should really try it tonight.

Lady Shirley

  • 1 1/2 oz. whiskey (I used 2 Gingers)
  • 1 oz. grenadine (try making your own! Great recipe here)
  • 1 1/2 oz. lemon juice
  • Soda water
  • Ice
  • Lemon peel for garnish (optional)

Mix the whiskey, grenadine, lemon juice, and ice in a shaker. Shake until well combined, then pour into a glass. Top with soda water and garnish with a lemon peel if you’d like.

I didn’t end up having soda water – the one bottle I found had lost it’s bubbles – so I actually topped mine off with a little bit of Sierra Mist Cranberry that we still had left over from Christmas season. It was delicious, and since I didn’t add too much, didn’t add a lot of extra sweetness. Although if you find this too tart for your liking, consider using something like Sprite to cut the lemon a little!

I really enjoyed this cocktail – it’s fun and pretty. Try one yourself tonight!

Leave a Reply

