Makeup … Wednesday. Ipsy Bag Mini Haul!

IMG_0157

Yeah I know. This weekend ended up being so busy and crazy that I didn’t have time to prepare all of my week’s posts! That’s okay though, cause January’s Ipsy bag arrived today, so we’re going to be a little loosey-goosey with the schedule this week.

I’m pretty sure all of these items are full size. How cool is that? That’s the first time so far I’ve gotten a bag with no samples sizes in it! This month I received Malin + Goetz Mojito Lip Balm, Pacifica eyeshadow in Ethereal, Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner in Jet, Velvet 59 by Paris Manning lipgloss in Noisette, and an All Over Shadow Brush by Elizabeth Mott.

First impressions:

Malin + Goetz lip balm ~ I like it. The mojito scent isn’t overpowering, and it’s a really nice consistency on my lips – not to sticky or too thin. It feels really moisturizing. It would probably work better as a lip balm over other lip products – it’s a little too slick to work well as a primer for lipstick.

Pacifica eyeshadow  ~ It’s pretty. It’s a slightly shimmery champagne color with no chunky glitter; it’ll work well as a highlight. I have a lot of these type of colors though – would have liked to see something with a little deeper color payoff.

Coastal Scents eyeliner ~ My Jesse’s Girl eyeliner I talked about last week is almost done for, so I’ll give this one a whirl! It goes on nice and dark black, dries quick, and seems to have good staying power. It has more of a felt tip applicator rather than a brush like the Jesse’s Girl one – and unfortunately it also has kind of an industrial burning-plastic type smell to it. It’s not super overpowering, at least to my nose – I really have to get in close to smell it – but I can see how that might turn other people off.

Velvet 59 lipgloss ~ It’s not bad. I’m not the biggest lipgloss fan – I usually don’t like any of the textures, and I hate how my hair sticks to my lips with the slightest bit of wind. But for a lipgloss it has a fairly nice texture – thick without feeling super gloopy or out of control – the color is a nice nude shade, and it makes your lips super shiny. By the way, this lipgloss alone is $19, making spending only $10 a month totally worth it.

Shadow Brush ~ Considering I just ordered a whole set of brushes from BH Cosmetics off of Hautelook, I could have done without this, but it’s a well constructed brush. The synthetic bristles are very soft and densely packed, and the long ferrule seems very sturdy. The handle itself is kind of thick, like a chubby pencil – with my small child-like hands I’m not sure I’ll like that very much but I’ll have to play around with it.

So there you have it! Follow the links if you see anything you can’t live without. I should have the rest of this weeks’ posts up on time, so look for that, and have a beautiful day. ❤

One thought on “Makeup … Wednesday. Ipsy Bag Mini Haul!

  1. Pingback: Makeup Monday – Five under $5 | To Find the Beautiful

Leave a Reply

